The Graha


The notion that a grahas are astronomical planets is not entirely accurate. In Sanskrit a Graha literally means, ‘To catch or hold’ and it’s an entity that influences both the animate and inanimate on Earth. For example Rahu & Ketu are mass-less, they’re mathematical points called as the North node and the South node (

Grahas are like transponder stations, where they receive signal from the distant stars (Nakshaktras) and relays back to Earth. Each Graha has it’s own vibratory frequency and personality. It’s also interesting to note that Jyotisa does not take the far-away Grahas – Uranus, Neptune & Pluto.

Sage Vyasa has identified Uranus , Neptune and Pluto some 5000 years ago, where he names them as Sweta (greenish white) for Uranus, Syama (bluish white) Neptune and Teekshana (volatile) Pluto. This can be traced in the great epic Mahabharata.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s